I Think I Found My “H”

It’s Thursday, and that means it’s almost Friday!

Yesterday’s workout was indeed hard, but I did it! Right now I’m using an app called 5k Forever to train with, because I already am able to “run” a 5k distance. This app is designed to help you get faster. My lofty goal right now is to be able to run a 5k in anything under 34 minutes…it’s my 33 by 33 goal, since I turn 33 soon. Unfortunately by “soon” I mean one month from today. I don’t know if I will make it, only because right now by my calculations my fastest 5k time is 37 minutes and some change. But, I don’t feel discouraged, it’s just a goal, it’s not something I’ll want to cry about or anything if I don’t hit it ON my birthday. I know that I’ve done the best I can with my hip issues, etc putting me out of commission a couple of times this year.

So anyway, back to yesterday. Like I said, I’m using the 5k Forever app, and I’ve really enjoyed it so far. Yesterday I was on week 5, day 2, which is what I would describe as a “long interval” day (I don’t know much about running and terminology, so if anyone out there knows better just correct me!). The run consisted of 15 minutes at “normal pace” (which for me is a 5.0 on the treadmill, which is supposedly 12mph), 8 minutes at “slightly faster” (which is 5.4 on the treadmill, about…11.6mph?), and then 10 minutes at “normal pace” again.

It was SO HARD. I’m in that stage now where running is a lot more mental than physical. First off, I got about 6 minutes in to the run, and then had to go to the bathroom. It’s the first time I’ve felt the need to go in the middle of a workout enough to actually stop the treadmill and go, usually I’m able to wait. But I was able to jump right back on and continue afterwards (whereas before I might have talked myself out of it and just walked or jogged). I finished my 15 minutes out, then ran the faster 8 minutes…and then I had to walk for a minute. I’m still not great at “recovering” from intervals where I go from a fast run to a slower run (as opposed to a fast run to a walk), but I’m working on that. But after the minute walk break, I went back in to running at “normal pace,” though I slowed the normal pace to around 4.8 for the first couple of minutes there as well. Once the 10 minute interval was over, I tacked on an extra minute of running to make up for the minute of walking I took.

The whole time I was running, I wanted to stop…I couldn’t find anything to keep me distracted…I was listening to Jillian Micheal’s podcast, and though I like it, it just wasn’t keeping my mind off of the self-torture I was doing. Nothing on the TVs was interesting, staring off out the window wasn’t helping. This is the hardest part of running for me…my body wasn’t hurting enough to want to stop, I was breathing ok (for the most part), I just…felt like I “couldn’t do it!” Someone told me they think my gym has free wi-fi, so I might take my iPad next time and try to watch a show on Netflix. Once it’s cooler outside (I live in Texas), I want to try and start running outside more.

BUT, once it was done…I was elated! I did it! I was able to sustain those paces – I was worried about my “normal” pace because I had recently had to take time off from running because my hip was hurting, not to mention the “slightly faster” pace…but I was able to jump right back in! I was grinning like an idiot afterwards and the whole way to the showers, I even stopped to take a photo like a nerd:

Yes, I am one of those...

Yes, I am one of those…

As I was in the shower, I felt so accomplished and just…goofy happy. I mean, it was only a silly little training run, and I had to stop the treadmill in there, so I didn’t even know how far I went in the total time, etc…but I just…felt happy. I got to thinking that maybe this is a little tiny whisper of what a…”runner’s high” feels like? If so, I think I found the H in runner’s high, lol!

Today is a rest day, but I’m trying to watch my food intake a lot for the next few days, one of my DietBets ends this weekend, and I am worried I won’t make my goal!

Leave a Reply

